Maureen Metcalf:  Is There Such A Thing As A ‘Level 5’/Teal Organization?

Maureen Metcalf: Is There Such A Thing As A ‘Level 5’/Teal Organization?

Part 1

In complex adaptive systems, those required to meet many of the challenges we currently face, leaders and organizations need to co-evolve to ensure their ability to respond to the opportunities and challenges. During this conversation, Terri and Maureen explore how individuals and organizations evolve. It starts with the question of how individuals “grow up” as leaders. They then map this same framework to exploring how organizations evolve. Terri presents a brief overview of the STAGES model, using it to frame to conversation about how a developmental model can be used to better understand the idea of organizational evolution. This is particularly useful when individuals use the developmental tools they employ for their own development to help the organization mature. While this sounds like even more work for busy leaders, this is the focus that enables them to create systems that are truly adaptive.

Listen to Part 1 on VoiceAmerica

Part 2

This is the second interview exploring the idea of Level 5/Teal organizations. During this discussion, we delve more deeply into how we can foster the development of these leading edge capacities. Further exploring organizational shadow and integrative thinking, we will look at case studies, practical examples and interventions that support level 5 leadership and organizational development.

  • Why are trust and safety important quality in teal organizational culture?
  • Are level 5/ teal capacities skills that we can learn or do we just have to “be” a level 5 / teal leader?
  • Exactly how can organization and leaders become more adaptive?
  • What is organizational shadow? Why is it important? How can we identify it and work with it?
  • What are organizational polarities and how to teal leaders and organization deal with them that goes beyond decision making or multiple bottom line? This exploration is important for leaders aspiring to reshape their organizations.

Listen to Part 2 on VoiceAmerica

Terri O'Fallon: The Development of Collective Consciousness – Subtle & Causal Levels

We know that individuals develop all of their lives. Terri O’Fallon’s current research supports 12 human levels of development. While these levels relate to and are expressed by the individual, there is also a corresponding collective developmental experience and expression. In this conversation, Patricia Albere and Terri O’Fallon, teacher and researcher, will explore the developmental qualities and experiences that arise in the collective realm, and how consciousness iterates from a concrete collective experience, to a subtle collective experience to a causal (very subtle, or “emptiful”) experience.

Listen here

Terri O'Fallon: Developmental Embodied Spirituality

Development occurs within our exterior, our interiors, as individuals and as collectives, where each evolves from earlier to later levels. While this may seem like a simple statement, it evokes so many questions around which there can be multiple interpretations. Join Patricia Albere and researcher, teacher and designer of transformational containers, Terri O’Fallon as they inquire into some of these questions involving developmental embodied spirituality.

Listen here

The Daily Evolver Interview: STAGES of human development with Terri O’Fallon Ph.D & Kim Barta

Jeff Salzman of The Daily Evolver recently spoke with Terri O’Fallon of Pacific Integral about her STAGES model of adult development, and to Kim Barta, a master psychotherapist who uses Terri’s research in his work. The model has been statistically grounded to correlate with the Sentence Completion Test as advanced by Susanne Cook Greuter which is the most widely-used and researched test of adult human development. STAGES validates three new, later stages of development; it is the first integrally based developmental model, incorporating quadrants, states, lines and types. As such, StAGES provides statistical support for Ken Wilber’s integral theory. It reveals a natural sequence of deep “vertical” structures, as well as iterating, wave-like patterns of development.

Listen to Interview Here